Get App
EnglishHindu CultureVedic astrology

What is Panchang: It’s Elements And Benefits

By April 18, 2022November 20th, 2023No Comments

Hindu Panchang is likewise the Panchangam or Hindu Calendar. It is an accumulation of various lunisolar calendars broadly in Vedic Astrology. It enlists a record of important, auspicious dates and astrological data presented in a tabular form.                    

English CTR

Panchang coordinates planets’ current position with their place in a person’s astrological chart. It is to find and look forward to seeing astrological good days and times for that individual. Panchanga or Panchang is a Sanskrit word composed of two words “panch”, which signifies five, and “ang”, which represents parts. Moreover, these five sections are as follows: Tithi, Vaar, Nakshatra, Yog, and Karana. The fundamental reason for this data is to look at different Hindu celebrations. 


Five Elements Of Hindu Panchang 

There are five different elements of Hindu Panchang which comprises as mentioned below:-

Vaar (Day of the Week):

Panchang follows a seven-day week and adjusts favourable occasions, dates, and events. The 7-day week begins from Sunday to Saturday, and the name comes after their delegate planets.

Tithi (The Lunar Day):

It refers to the status and position of the Moon in Shukla Paksha or Krishna Paksha. In either case, Tithi is after the condition of the Moon. So, it compensates for one principal reason: 14 tithi’s in the two cycles among Amavasya and Purnima.


Nakshatra (Lunar Mansion):

The universe is separated into 12 groups of stars or zodiacs as indicated by Vedic Astrology. As a result, Nakshatras are gathering 27 leads framing a zodiac sign. Their analysis is according to the position of the Moon.

Karana (Half Lunar Day):

Karana is one half of the yog. 2 Karanas make up a Tithi or Tithi, which has 11 Karanas. However, 4 of them are stationary the remaining seven are mobile.

Yoga (Sum of Moon and Sun Position)

Yoga literally translates to addition or sum. It is the sum of the Sun and Moon Positions in the Zodiac. There are 27 Yogas. One Yoga is 13 degrees 20 minutes. So, the sum total of all Yogas is 360. All Yogas have their distinct characteristics.

Purnima and Amavasya in Panchang

Purnima is the full moon day. It symbolises birth or rebirth. On Purnima, the moon completes a whole cycle. It is an auspicious day for many religious rituals like specific worship and marriages. Performing other professional and personal events is also done on this day. In addition, it is a lucky day. You will feel very energetic on this day. It is an important day to worship and follow your prayers to Lord Vishnu and Goddess Laxmi.

Amavasya is the new moon day. So, it is an inauspicious day and Manglik for marriage, griha Pravesh, etc. It is a powerful day. The Sun and Moon are in the same direction on Amavasya. Lord Shiva is worshipped on this day. Furthermore, the practice of remembrance and rituals of forefathers is conducted on Amavasya. It is a good day for havan or shraddha.

Benefits of Checking Panchang Daily

In Hinduism, people consult Panchang before starting any favourable work, such as marriage ceremonies, birthday pujas, business introductions.  It also assesses the position of the Moon, Sun, and various planets.

Older people have this habit of checking Panchang every day. Then, they accordingly plan their day and everyday activities as per their Dainik Panchang.

Also Read:- Free Horoscope Today (September 30, 2020) For All Zodiac Signs

Below are a few advantages of checking the Panchang every day.

  • Panchang helps in preparing Kundali. Because the astrologer needs to consider the place of planets and Nakshatras before proceeding.
  • One can proceed to organise favourable occasions or arrange any custom by counselling it.
  • Astrologers can check the Panchang and talk about various Hindu festivals and days celebrated.
  • Moreover, it helps identify Transit, Retrograde, Pure Lagna, Dasha, Satisfaction, Signs, Social Traditions, etc.
  • It assists you with doing the financial planning of the day appropriately.
  • You prepare for your day ahead of time and plan it.
  • Similarly, it also guides you in your career and overseeing relationships.


Astrology helps make your life successful by giving you a heads-up about the future. Important events like marriage, office inauguration, starting a new venture and celebrations should be performed on auspicious days. All the good timings to do these activities are mentioned in Panchang. All these calculations in Panchang are precise and definite. You should take advantage of this and learn more about Panchang.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. What is Panchang?

Panchang is the Hindu Calendar with information on all the important dates and events marked. Just like any other calendar, this is created in a tabular form. However, Panchang has a list of upcoming essential fasting days to make it easier for the readers. The English translation of the word ‘Panchang’ is five pieces. As the name suggests, there are five elements of Panchang- Rashi, Nakshatra, Tithi, Yoga and Karana. These elements of this spiritual calendar hold different significance in improving a follower’s life. In addition, you can learn more about Panchang meaning on the InstaAstro website and even consult an Astrologer. 

2. How to read Panchang?

Reading the Panchang is not tricky. You just need to remember to read it at least once a week, so you know the crucial days which are coming up. In addition, remember to keep a check on solar and lunar calendars. Learn about Samvat, Maas, Vaar, Tithi, Krishna Paksha and Shukla Paksha. It is always beneficial for the native to learn the working of the calendar and understand every small part of it. The full moon and new moon are the starting and ending marks of the month. 

3. What are the five elements of Hindu Panchang?

The Hindu Panchang has five elements, as the name translates. Tithi, or the position of the moon, Nakshatra or lunar mansion in Hindu Astrology, Yoga, meaning the sum of the sun and moon position in the zodiac, Karana which is one half of Yoga and Var, means the day of the week. 

4. Will I benefit from checking Panchang regularly?

You will be updated about every important auspicious day on the Hindu calendar. Rituals and religious activities should be performed on specific days. It is an informative bank where you can learn Samvat, Maas, Vaar, Tithi, Krishna Paksha, Shukla Paksha, Yoga, Karna and all the other details. 

5. Why is Yoga so crucial in Vedic Panchang?

Yoga means the addition of Sun and Moon positions. Therefore, it is an essential factor in determining auspicious days in Panchang. There are 27 types of Yoga. In total, the Yogas add up to 360. 

6. What is Thithi Panchang?

Tithi is the position of the Moon in Shukla Paksha or Krishna Paksha. It is an integral part of the Hindu Panchang. Tithi is also the Lunar day.

Also Read: Nimbu-Mirchi Or Nazar Battu Totka: Reason And Significance

Get in touch with an Astrologer through Call or Chat, and get accurate predictions.

Ananya Singh

About Ananya Singh