Get App
AstrologyEnglishHealth ScienceHindu CultureVedic astrology

Significance and Meaning of the Seven Chakras

By June 16, 2023December 14th, 2023No Comments
Seven Chakras

If you’ve taken a yoga or meditation class, had an energy healing session like reiki, or just watched online videos about those subjects. Then, you must have heard about chakras and their role in the flow of energy in your body. Moreover, the questions here are, what are the seven chakras? What is the meaning of the Seven chakra? How to activate seven chakras? What is the Meaning of the Seven Chakras? Should we do yoga to balance seven chakras? Today, we have the seven chakras explained. Next, let us find more about the seven chakras in body. 

English CTR

What are the Seven Chakras?

According to Sanskrit, the word “chakra” means “disk” or “wheel” and refers to the energy centres in your body. As a result these wheels or disks of spinning energy each correspond to specific nerve bundles and significant organs in our body. Lastly, there are seven chakras in our body, each placed in a particular location along your spine. 

Muladhara Chakra (The root chakra)

Muladhara chakra is the very first chakra of our body. This is located at the base of the spine between the anus and genitals. And it keeps us grounded and connected with the energy of the Earth. Moreover, it brings us close to the Earth due to its feminine nature.

Colour of the chakra: Red

Muladhara Chakra

Swadishthana Chakra (The sacral chakra)

Meaning of the Seven Chakras of Sacral chakra deals with an individual’s emotional identity, creativity, desire, pleasure and self-gratification. It is also responsible for expressing emotions and is located below the belly button-three inches below the navel.

Colour of the chakra: Orange

Orange Chakra

Manipura Chakra (The solar plexus chakra )

This chakra deals with a sense of belonging and a mental understanding of emotions. Besides, it is located at the level of the umbilicus corresponding to the gastric or solar plexus. The Manipura Chakra regulates the upper abdomen, small intestines, and stomach. But when this chakra becomes imbalanced, it can cause health issues such as diabetes, pancreatitis, adrenal imbalances, arthritis, colon diseases, stomach ulcers, or low blood pressure. 

Colour of the chakra: Yellow

Yellow Chakra

Also Read: How Seven Horse Painting Vastu Brings Success

Anahata Chakra (The heart chakra)

This chakra is located on the cardiac plexus in the region of the heart. In fact, it can affect a person’s social identity and influences traits like trust, forgiveness, unconditional love and compassion. Which is why, it deals with the working of the heart, rib cage, blood and circulatory system. Unfortunately, an imbalance can cause issues related to the thoracic spine, upper back and shoulder problems. 

Colour of the chakra: Green

Green Chakra

Vishuddhi Chakra (The throat chakra)

The throat chakra is located on the level of the throat. Precisely on the nerve plexus of the pharynx region, it deals with personality traits like communication, creativity, faith, truthfulness and self-awareness. Throat Chakra also governs the throat and parathyroid Glad primarily. An unbalanced Vishuddhi Chakra can cause thyroid dysfunctions, sore throat and stiff neck. Moreover, it also results in mouth ulcers, gum or tooth problems, laryngitis, and hearing problems.

Colour of the chakra: Blue

Blue Chakra

Ajna Chakra (The third eye chakra)

This chakra deals with self-awareness, thinking, imagination and concentration and is located between the eyebrows as it helps with the functions of the brain, eyes, ears, nose, pituitary gland, pineal glands, and the neurological system. Therefore, any imbalance could lead to headaches, nightmares, eyestrain, learning depression, blindness or spinal dysfunctions.

Colour of the chakra: Indigo

Indigo Chakra

Sahasrara Chakra (The crown chakra)

This chakra influences intuitive knowledge, connection to spirituality. It also influences integration of mind-body-spirit, and conscious awareness. Therefore, it is placed at the crown of the head. Lastly, the crown chakra governs the centre of the head and midline above the ears, brain, nervous system, and pineal gland.

Colour of the chakra: Violet

Violet Chakra

Seven Chakras Crystals

Crystals are often associated with the seven chakras in the human body. Different crystals are believed to correspond to each chakra. Therefore, the crystals associated with each chakra are:

  • Root Chakra -Red Jasper and Hematite
  • Sacral Chakra – Carnelian and Moonstone
  • Solar Plexus Chakra – Citrine and Yellow Jasper
  • Heart Chakra – Rose Quartz and Green Aventurine
  • Throat Chakra – Lapis Lazuli and Aquamarine
  • Third Eye Chakra – Amethyst and Fluorite
  • Crown Chakra – Clear Quartz and Amethyst

Chakras Crystals


This was all about the Seven Chakras and their significance in an individual’s life. One thing to note is that maintaining a balance of these Chakras is very important for every individual. Thus, in order to do so, people can try Meditation. Seven Chakra Meditation helps an individual attain mental peace and balance. It is a popular practice that is used by people for balancing and aligning their seven chakras. Just like any other practice, meditation also has many different types of techniques. Moreover, an individual’s senses, including hearing, visuals, touch and sensation, are used to enhance the meditation experience.

Moreover, if you liked this blog and want to read more such blogs, then do visit InstaAstro’s website or download the app for the same. There you will be able to read many more such informative and interesting blogs.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 

1. What was the origin of chakras?

There is no clear evidence for the emergence of Chakras. However, it is believed that they emerged in the Indian spiritual practices. Moreover, there are also mentions of Chakras in sacred texts including Vedas and Upanishads.

2. What are the seven chakras and their elements?

The 7 chakras 7 elements are as follows – Root Chakra – Earth, Sacral Chakra – Water, Solar Plexus Chakra – Fire, Heart Chakra – Air, Throat Chakra – Sound, Third Eye Chakra – Light, and Crown Chakra – Thought

3. What are the chakras for beginners?

The concept of the seven Chakras can come around to be a bit confusing and complex for a beginner. However, a basic understanding of the Chakras is the first step for any individual. One must remember that each Chakra holds different powers and controls different dominions of an individual’s life. Moreover, having a balance between these Chakras is something that keeps people calm and composed.

4. What does chakra in English mean?

The term Chakra holds its roots in the Sanskrit language. In English, the term chakra refers to the seven energy centres that are present in a human body. Thus, in simpler terms the word chakra refers to the seven energy centres in the human body.

5. What are the names of seven chakras in human body?

The Seven chakras names include the following – Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra, Crown Chakra.

Also Read: 10 Amazing Sri Chakra Benefits

For interesting Astrological Facts and Videos, follow us on Instagram and read your daily horoscope.

Get in touch with an Astrologer through Call or Chat, and get accurate predictions.


About Rajvi