Hindu CultureMandir

Jyotirlinga: A Devotional Representation of Lord Shiva on Indian Soil

By March 10, 2021April 5th, 2023No Comments

According to Hindu scriptures, there are twelve major Jyotirlingas associated with Lord Shiva, the destroyer of the world and a formidable part of the Trinity. All these jyotirlinga shrines are holy temples known for the appearance of almighty Shiva as a fiery column of light. A mere glimpse on any of these twelve Jyotirlingas ensures devotee gets special benefits and freedom from all sorrows of life. Moreover, these temples bless devotees with cosmic and supernatural pleasures. Read the content and find out the different locations of these Shiva temples through Jyotirlinga Stotram. Also, check which Jyotirlinga you should worship as per your zodiac signs.

Jyotirlinga Stotram and Jyotirlinga locations in India

The following shaloka from Jyotirlinga Stotram (द्वादश ज्योतिर्लिंग स्तोत्रम्) explain the sequence and locations of various Jyotirlingas in different parts of India. It reads like:

सौराष्ट्रे सोमनाथं च श्रीशैले मल्लिकार्जुनम्।
उज्जयिन्यां महाकालमोङ्कारममलेश्वरम्॥
परल्यां वैद्यनाथम् च डाकिन्यां भीमशङ्करम्।
सेतुबन्धे तु रामेशं नागेशं दारुकावने॥
वाराणस्यां तु विश्वेशं त्र्यम्बकं गौतमीतटे।
हिमालये तु केदारं घुश्मेशं च शिवालये॥

Somanath in Saurashtra and Sri Mallikarjuna in Srisailam;
Mahakaal in Ujjain and Mamleshwar in Omkareshwar;
Vaidyanath in Parli, Maharashtra, and Bhimashankaram in Dakinya;
Ramesham (Rameswaram) in Sethubandh and Nagesham in Daruka-Vana;
Vishwesham (Vishvanath) in Varanasi and Tryambakam at the bank of the river Gautami (Godavari);
Kedar (Kedarnath) in the Himalayas and Ghushmesh (Ghrishneshwar) in Shivalaya (Verul).

एतानि ज्योतिर्लिङ्गानि सायं प्रातः पठेन्नरः।
सप्तजन्मकृतं पापं स्मरणेन विनश्यति॥
एतेषां दर्शनादेव पातकं नैव तिष्ठति।
कर्मक्षयो भवेत्तस्य यस्य तुष्टो महेश्वराः॥

One who recites these Jyotirlingas every evening and morning is relieved of all sins committed in the past seven lives. One who visits these, gets all his wishes fulfilled and one’s karma gets eliminated as Maheshwara gets satisfied with the worship.

Jyotirlinga worshiping as per your zodiac signs

Somnath Ji – Aries
Suggested Mantra – ‘Hrim Om Namah Shivaay Hrim’

Sri Mallikarjuna – Taurus
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Namah Shivaya’

Mahakaal – Gemini
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Namo Bhagavate Rudray’

Omkareshwar – Cancer
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Hou Joon Sas’

Vaidyanath – Leo
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Trimbakam Yajamahe Sugandhi Virmanavardhanam Urvarukamiv Bandhananamrottamuklik Maramatat.’

Bhimashankaram – Virgo
Suggested Mantra –’Om Namo Bhagavate Rudray’
Ramesham (Rameswaram) – Libra
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Namah Shivaya’

Nageshwaram – Scorpio
Suggested Mantra – ‘Hrim Om Namah Shivaay Hrim’

Vishvanath – Sagittarius
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Tattpurushaya Vidmahe Mahadevaya Dheemahi. Tanno Rudra: Prachodayat.’

Tryambakam – Capricorn
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Namah Shivaya’

Kedarnath – Aquarius
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Namah Shivaya’

Ghrishneshwar – Pisces
Suggested Mantra – ‘Om Tattpurushaya Vidmahe Mahadevaya Dheemahi. Tanno Rudra: Prachodayat.’

Maha Mrityunjaya mantra

“ॐ त्र्य॑म्बकं यजामहे सु॒गन्धिं॑ पुष्टि॒वर्ध॑नम् । उ॒र्वा॒रु॒कमि॑व॒ बन्ध॑नान् मृ॒त्योर्मुक्षीय॒ मा ऽमृता॑त् । ।
“Oṃ Tryambakaṃ Yajāmahe Sugandhiṃ Puṣṭi-Vardhanam. Urvārukam Iva Bandhanān Mṛtyor Mukṣīya Mā ‘Mṛtāt.”

If you are facing any sort of deadly diseases, health issues, unsolved problems, unfavorable events, or Kaal Sarp Dosh in your birth chart, ask experienced Indian astrologers or pandits available online. You can also take help from online Lord Shiva puja experts to arrange a puja in any of the twelve Jyotirlingas in India.

Get in touch with an Astrologer through Call or Chat, and get accurate predictions.

Neeraj Kumar

About Neeraj Kumar

An astrology enthusiast, avid writer, and content curator who loves to see how stars predict fortune beyond this metaphysical world.

Leave a Reply