Get App
EnglishFestivalsHindu Culture

Chaitra Navratri 2022: Why 9 days And 9 Devis

By March 27, 2022November 20th, 2023No Comments
Durga Mata

About Navratri:

Navratri, a 9-day long festival, which happens twice a year. The first Navratri is Chaitra Navratri, which is in the months of March-April. People name it Vasant Navratri as it falls in spring. On the other hand, the Navratri festival in the autumn season is Sharad Navratri.

This year, this 9-day holy festival of Chaitra Navratri will commence from April 2 and last till April 10. During the nine days of Navratri, nine forms or manifestations of Goddess Durga are celebrated. In addition, the festival celebrates Goddess Durga for defeating the demon Mahishasura in a battle.

Durga Mata

Why 9 Days?

The legend has it that Lord Brahma granted demon Mahishasura immortality. And only a woman could defeat him. Assuming no woman could destroy him, he started pushing disruption in three realms: Earth, Heaven, and Hell. Lord Vishnu, Lord Brahma, and Lord Shiva joined their forces and created Goddess Durga to stop him from wreaking mayhem.

A 15-day long battle between Goddess Durga and Mahishasur took place. Mahishasur kept switching his body and form to complicate the Goddess during these days. Finally, the day he assumed the form of buffalo, the Goddess slew him with her Trishul.

Over these nine days, different incarnations of Goddess Durga are worshipped. It is a belief that Goddess Durga manifests in three primary three forms. Mahalakshmi, Mahasaraswati and Mahakali further embodied three more states each.

 happy navratri background with text

Importance of 9 days

Navratri starts by honoring Goddess Shailputri. She is the daughter of the king of mountains Himavat.

On the second day, people worship Goddess Brahmcharini to attain moksha. She is the second avatar of Goddess Durga.

The third day observes Goddess Chandraghanta for peace, tranquillity, and prosperity.

On the fourth day, Goddess Kushmanda is the originator of the Universe.

The fifth day is for Skandmata. As she portrays the susceptibility of a mother who can fight anyone when the necessity arises.

Further, on the sixth day, Goddess Katyayani is on a pedestal. She was born to the eminent sage, Kata and represents courage.

Goddess Shailputri

The seventh day is for Goddess Kal Ratri, the most militant form of Goddess Durga.

The eighth day is for Goddess Maha Gauri. It represents intelligence, peace, fortune, and calm.

On the final ninth day, Goddess Siddhidatri is given prayers for having supernatural healing abilities.

The festival has an ardent enthusiasm which is rare in any other celebration of the country. In this nine-day long festival, people observe fasting. Each day during the nine-day festival is remarkable, with significance related to the Goddess Durga’s various incarnations. 

Also Read: Kanya Puja 2022: Worshipping Girl Child As Goddess Durga

Get in touch with an Astrologer through Call or Chat, and get accurate predictions.

Ananya Singh

About Ananya Singh

Leave a Reply