Sharad Navratri

For all of us, Navratri has been a long-standing custom with significant religious significance. We also know that Navratri is unquestionably one of the most significant Hindu holidays, one that is fervently and enthusiastically observed throughout the country. However, few people are aware that it is observed five times a year during various seasons. They are the Paush/Magha Navratri, Sharada Navratri, Ashadha Navratri, and Chaitra Navratri. Sharada Navratri in the Varsha Ritu (the beginning of fall) and Chaitra Navratri in the Vasanta Ritu (the season of spring) are two of the most significant them.

The most celebrated and important Navratri, also known as Maha Navratri, is this one. It is observed in September or October, the beginning of winter, according to the Hindu calendar's Ashwin masa. In India, many people celebrate this Navratri. Nine manifestations of Maa Shakti—Durga, Bhadrakali, Jagadamba, Annapurna, Sarvamangala, Bhairavi, Chandika, Lalita, Bhavani, and Mookambika—are honoured during Sharad Navratri.

The tenth day of Navratri is observed as Vijayadashami and is also remembered as the day on which Sri Rama slew Ravana and rescued Sita. Navratri also represents the killing of the demon Mahishasura by Goddess Durga. The celebration in the southern regions of India includes devotion to the goddesses Lakshmi and Saraswati.

Sharad Navratri Rituals

1) Maa Shailputri, a representation of the moon, is the first form of Maa Durga and is worshipped on the first day of Sharad Navratri. All negative repercussions and omens are eliminated by worshipping Maa Shailputri. Followers are advised to dress in yellow on this day.

2) Maa Brahmacharini is the second manifestation of Maa Durga, and it is forbidden not to worship her on the second day of Sharad Navratri. When a devotee worships Maa Brahmacharini with a pure heart, all of his sorrows, aches, and difficulties are lifted. Maa Brahmacharini is a representation of the planet Mars. When you worship Maa Brahmacharini, dress in green.

3) On the third day of Navratri, Mother Chandraghanta, who rules over Venus, is honoured. Worshipping them results in power and eliminates all types of concerns. When you worship Maa Chandraghanta, dress in grey.

4) Maa Kushmanda, a goddess who stands in for the Sun God, is worshipped at a rite on the fourth day of Sharad Navratri. On Chaturthi Tithi, wearing orange-coloured clothing is seen as lucky. Worshipping Maa Kushmanda eliminates all potential future problems.

5) On the fifth day of Sharad Navratri, adoration is offered to Mother Skandmata, who rules over the planet, Mercury. The mother bestows unique benefits on the devotee who worships Maa Skandmata. On the Panchami Tithi, wearing white is regarded favourably.

6) Mother Katyayani is honoured on the Shashthi Tithi of Sharad Navratri. On this day, devotees worship Maa Katyayani, who rules over Jupiter, while dressed in red. Maa Katyayani is a goddess of strength and courage.

7) Maa Kalratri, a representation of the planet Shani, is revered to this day. The devotees who worship Maa Kalratri get fearless. On Saptami Tithi, you should dress in royal blue.

8) According to a statute, Mahagauri must be worshipped on Ashtami Tithi. It is seen as lucky to dress in pink on this day. Rahu is under Maa Mahagauri's authority, and she purges any harmful influences from her followers' life.

9) Maa Siddhidatri is a representation of Rahu, a planet associated with wisdom and understanding. On Navami Tithi, you should wear purple-coloured clothing.

10) The end of Sharad Navratri and the immersion of Goddess Durga shall occur on this day. Vijayadashami is another name for Sharad Dashami.

Navratri Celebrations

The term "Navaratri"—which means "nine" in Sanskrit—comes from the words "ratri," which means "night." The well-known Navratri mythology emphasises the noteworthy conflict between the formidable monster Mahishasura and Goddess Durga. Numerous devotional practises are observed during Navratri in India, but they all have the overarching theme of virtue triumphing over evil. During Navratri, a significant increase in pilgrims makes their way to the Vaishno Devi shrine in Jammu. The Navratri Mela commemorates the auspicious day of Navratri in Himachal Pradesh. In West Bengal, both sexes adore Goddess Durga for slaying the demonic "Mahishasura" during the festival of "Durga Puja," which is celebrated with tremendous devotion and reverence. On expansive grounds, people reenact episodes from the Ramayana in a performance known as "Ramlila." A national holiday called "Dussehra" is celebrated on the tenth day of Ashwin (Sharad) Navratri.

During Navratri, people in South India place their idols in a step pattern and recite the name of God. The nine-day Navratri celebration in Mysore falls during the 'Dasara' Festival, which features traditional music and dance performances, wrestling matches, and tableau competitions. A well-known parade begins from the beautifully lighted Mysore Palace and features tableaux, ornamented elephants, camels, and horses. In South India, "Vijayadashami" is considered a lucky day for doing pooja for one's car.


Worried about your marriage?


Frequently Asked Questions

Sharad Navratri, which is celebrated in the lunar month of Ashvin, commemorates the conclusion of the monsoon season. It is observed both during and after the fall harvest in different regions of India. The celebration commemorated Goddess Durga's triumph over the demonic Mahishasura.
During the blessed holiday of Navratri, people fast and offer prayers to the goddess for nine days. All Hindus celebrate the holiday. Thus those who do so must adhere to a number of severe regulations for success and fortune during the course of the nine days.
It is not permitted to cut your hair or nails during Navratri. One is said to have to endure the goddess' wrath if they do this since it angers her. You may shave once or twice if you must go to the office, but for nine days, refrain from trimming your hair or your nails.
What is the origin of Navratri? Hindus commemorate the goddess Durga's victory over the monster Mahishasura during the festival of Navratri. Because of his devotion to him, a more powerful God, Lord Brahma, had granted Mahishasura the gift of immortality, ensuring that he would never perish.