Annaprashan Muhurat 2022

Annaprashan, one of the first milestones in a child's life, is cherished by all the members of the family. While every first thing of a baby is remarkable, the Annaprasana ceremony is a special, unique, and precious occasion that commemorates the baby's first intake of solid food. In this ceremony, the whole family of the child get together to celebrate their child's first real 'taste' of life!

If you are expecting or have already had your child and wish to celebrate their Annaprasanam, then InstaAstro's Annaprashan Muhurat 2022 page can help you know all about this beautiful ceremony, its rituals, and the auspicious dates to observe it in 2022. As rightly said, "Subho Annaprashan!" So let's head right into this function’s elements and its specialty!

Meaning of the Annaprasana function

An immensely valued occasion, the Annaprasana for a baby is one of the first celebrations introducing the baby to solid food. In this function, the baby is offered different types of food items ranging from mildly spicy ones to sweet, savoury, and salty ones. Also, the Annaprashan ceremony is usually celebrated within the first year of the birth of the child. After making the baby taste the different types of food, all the present elders bless the baby and pray for their success, prosperity, happiness, and health.

Different names of the Annaprasana ceremony

While this function is famous and widely celebrated, it is known by several different names in different regions of India.

Although the name 'Annaprashan' is the most popular and widely accepted, here are the other names of this function:

  • Mukhe Bhaat in Bengal
  • Choroonu ceremony in Kerala
  • Bhath Kuhlau in the Garhwal Hills of Himachal Pradesh
  • Muh Juthi ceremony in North India

Traditional Annaprashan Videos

In the unique occasion of the baby's Annaprashan ceremony, the baby is usually seated on the maternal uncle's lap, who is the first one to feed the baby with their first solid bite. Following this, a Yagya or Havan is organised under the guidance of a Pandit. This havan is dedicated to the child's well-being, upliftment, and happiness. After the Yagya ends, Prasad is first offered to the Gods and Goddess, following which it is fed to the baby and then to the other present members.

After the traditional festivities, an exciting ritual is celebrated where the child is made to choose between various items. An array of things, such as pieces of gold jewellery, books, pens, clay, and some food items, are placed in front of the child. It is believed whatever thing the child chooses; will change their life.

Read further to know the symbolism behind the items:

  • If the baby chooses jewellery, they will attract all the wealth of the world.
  • If the baby chooses pens, they will welcome intellect.
  • If the baby chooses books, they will possess knowledge.
  • If the baby chooses clay, they will own many properties.
  • If the baby chooses food, they will be charitable and kind.

Food items and their importance

Food is an essential component in this particular ceremony. In fact, many people even refer to this function as the baby's rice ceremony.

Traditionally, the baby is fed Kheer or Payasam, Dal, Rice, Fish, and Meat. However, the importance of these items is different from each other. While Kheer or Payasam is representative of the traditional sweet dish and purity and divinity, Dal and Rice are symbolic of our staple diets. Also, Fish and Meat are offered to introduce the child to different pallets.

Serving techniques

Traditionally, the Kheer is prepared by the mother or grandmother of the baby and is offered in a silver plate or bowl. Also, it is imperative to feed the child only with a silver spoon as silver is believed to be highly auspicious and opportune. Therefore, by feeding the baby with a silver spoon from a silver platter, you would be welcoming good fortune and luck into your child's life.

The right time to perform Annaprashan

The Annaprashan ceremony is celebrated when the baby is five to twelve months old; however, certain rules should be followed while looking for the best Annaprashan Muhurat for your child.

The Annaprasana for baby girls is observed in their odd months, meaning it is celebrated when the baby girl is in her Fifth, Seventh, Ninth, or Eleventh month. Similarly, the Annaprasana for baby boys is celebrated in the even months when the baby boy is in his Sixth, Eighth, Tenth, or Twelfth month.

Annaprashan Sanskar Precautions

While every parent knows what's best for their child, some fundamental aspects are unavoidable and should always be remembered.

Although Hindu traditions, rituals, and customs follow the highest level of hygiene and sanitation, one can never be too sure when it comes to babies. Since this occasion is observed when the child is still relatively young, it is advisable to take extra precautions.

Here are some vital Annaprashan sanskar precautions that you must follow while celebrating your baby's first milestone:

  • It is advisable to prepare the baby's food away from dust.
  • It would help best if you remember to cook delicate food items.
  • It is suggested to make the food items non-spicy.
  • It would be best to maintain proper hygiene while cooking your baby's food and feeding them.
  • Since your baby is very sensitive, health-wise, and more prone to falling sick, you are suggested to wash your hands frequently and keep your baby away from potentially unhealthy items.

Annaprashan Dates in 2022

If you are seeking a list of Annaprashan dates in 2022, then InstaAstro's Annaprashan Muhurat of 2022 is here to help you!!

Just scroll down and know of the auspicious Annaprasana dates for the year 2022:

Annaprashan Muhurats In January 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
January 05, 2022 (Wednesday) 07:21 AM to 10:02 AM Ashada
January 06, 2022 (Thursday) 07:21 AM to 08:41 AM Sravana
January 10, 2022 (Monday) 07:22 AM to 08:42 AM Bhadra
January 14, 2022 (Friday) 08:44 AM to 11:26 AM Kritika
January 21, 2022 (Monday) 08:44 AM to 01:27 PM Ashlesha
January 24, 2022 (Monday) 07:22 AM to 08:43 AM Phalguni
January 31, 2022 (Monday) 07:20 AM to 08:42 AM Mula

Annaprashan Muhurats In February 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
February 03, 2022 (Thursday) 07:18 AM to 08:41 AM Sravana
February 07, 2022 (Monday) 07:17 AM to 08:40 AM Bhadra
February 03, 2022 (Thursday) 07:18 AM to 08:41 AM Sravana
February 07, 2022 (Monday) 07:17 AM to 08:40 AM Bhadra
February 14, 2022 (Monday) 10:03 AM to 11:28 AM Ardra
February 16, 2022 (Wednesday) 07:11 AM to 08:36 AM Punarvasu
February 23, 2022 (Wednesday) 07:06 AM to 08:32 AM Chitra
February 28, 2022 (Monday) 07:02 AM to 08:29 AM Mula

Annaprashan Muhurats In March 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
March 04, 2022 (Friday) 08:27 AM to 09:54 AM Bhadra
March 09, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:54 AM to 08:22 AM Rohini
March 11, 2022 (Friday) 08:22 AM to 09:50 AM Ardra
March 16, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:48 AM to 08:17 AM Magha
March 24, 2022 (Thursday) 06:40 AM to 08:10 AM Mula
March 28, 2022 (Monday) 09:40 AM to 11:12 AM Dhanishta
March 30, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:34 AM to 08:06 AM Bhadra

Annaprashan Muhurats In April 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
April 01, 2022 (Friday) 08:05 AM to 09:37 AM Bhadra
April 06, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:28 AM to 08:00 AM Rohini
April 07, 2022 (Thursday) 06:27 AM to 07:59 AM Mrigashirsha
April 14, 2022 (Thursday) 06:20 AM to 07:54 AM Phalguni
April 18, 2022 (Monday) 09:28 AM to 11:02 AM Swathi
April 25, 2022 (Monday) 09:24 AM to 11:00 AM Dhanishta
April 28, 2022 (Thursday) 09:40 AM to 11:12 AM Dhanishta
April 30, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:34 AM to 08:06 AM Bhadra

Annaprashan Muhurats In May 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
May 04, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:05 AM to 07:41 AM Mrigashirsha
May 12, 2022 (Thursday) 06:00 AM to 07:38 AM Phalguni
May 16, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:05 AM to 07:41 AM Anuradha
May 20, 2022 (Friday) 07:36 AM to 09:15 AM Ashada
May 25, 2022 (Wednesday) 05:55 AM to 07:36 AM Bhadra

Annaprashan Muhurats In June 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
June 03, 2022 (Friday) 07:34 AM to 09:41 AM Punarvasu
June 10, 2022 (Friday) 05:53 AM to 07:33 AM Hasta
June 17, 2022 (Friday) 07:35 AM to 09:16 AM Ashada
June 22, 2022 (Wednesday) 05:54 AM to 07:35 AM Bhadra
June 23, 2022 (Thursday) 05:55 AM to 07:35 AM Revathi

Annaprashan Muhurats In July 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
July 06, 2022 (Wednesday) 07:34 AM to 09:41 AM Phalguni
July 15, 2022 (Friday) 06:02 AM to 07:42 AM Sravana
July 20, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:04 AM to 07:44 AM Revathi
July 25, 2022 (Monday) 09:26 AM to 11:05 AM Mrigashirsha
July 29, 2022 (Friday) 07:48 AM to 09:26 AM Ashlesha

Annaprashan Muhurats In August 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
August 04, 2022 (Thursday) 06:11 AM to 07:48 AM Chithra
August 10, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:13 AM to 07:50 AM Ashada
August 12, 2022 (Friday) 07:52 AM to 09:28 AM Sravana
August 29, 2022 (Monday) 09:30 AM to 11:04 AM Phalguni
August 31, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:21 AM to 07:55 AM Hasta

Annaprashan Muhurats In September 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
September 01, 2022 (Thursday) 06:21 AM to 07:55 AM Rohini
September 08, 2022 (Thursday) 06:23 AM to 07:56 AM Phalguni
September 23, 2022 (Friday) 07:59 AM to 09:29 AM Bhadra
September 30, 2022 (Friday) 08:00 AM to 09:29 AM Ardra

Annaprashan Muhurats In October 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
October 05, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:32 AM to 08:00 AM Ashada
October 17, 2022 (Monday) 09:31 AM to 10:57 AM Ardra
October 20, 2022 (Thursday) 06:38 AM to 08:03 AM Ashlesha
October 26, 2022 (Wednesday) 06:41 AM to 08:05 AM Swathi
October 28, 2022 (Friday) 08:07 AM to 09:31 AM Anuradha

Annaprashan Muhurats In November 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
November 05, 2022 (Thursday) 06:45 AM to 08:08 AM Sravana
November 10, 2022 (Thursday) 06:49 AM to 08:12 AM Bhadra
November 11, 2022 (Friday) 08:13 AM to 09:35 AM Sravana
November 14, 2022 (Monday) 09:38 AM to 10:59 AM Ardra
November 24, 2022 (Thursday) 06:58 AM to 08:19 AM Vishaka
November 28, 2022 (Monday) 09:44 AM to 11:04 AM Ashada

Annaprashan Muhurats In December 2022

Date Shubh Muhurat Nakshatra
December 02, 2022 (Friday) 08:25 AM to 09:45 AM Bhadra
December 08, 2022 (Thursday) 07:08 AM to 08:27 AM Rohini
December 09, 2022 (Friday) 08:29 AM to 09:49 AM Rohini
December 12, 2022 (Monday) 09:511 AM to 11:11 AM Punarvasu
December 26, 2022 (Monday) 09:59 AM to 11:18 AM Ashada
December 29, 2022 (Friday) 07:48 AM to 09:26 AM Shatabhisha

Frequently Asked Questions

'You can feed your baby mildly salty food during their Annaprashan ceremony.
Yes, Annaprashan can be celebrated at home. Most people prefer to commemorate this special occasion at their homes rather than at temples.
It would be best if you got in touch with our esteemed astrologers through our website. InstaAstro's approved astrologers are the best in the game and will give you Annaprashan dates for your baby girl.
Annaprashan is a Sanskrit word, and its meaning is translated to cooked rice feeding. So 'Anna' means 'cooked rice and 'Prasana' means 'feeding'.
Annaprasana is called Mukhe Bhaat in Bengal.
'Subho Annaprashan' means 'Shubh Annaprasana' or 'May you celebrate an auspicious Annaprasana'.

Choose your Zodiac Sign