Festivals of 2022

Due to the richness of the Hindu religion and Indian culture, various feasts, festivals, and fasts are held here. Along with Hindu holidays, this schedule also lists celebrations for Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, and many other faiths. With the Calendar of the Indian festival 2022, you may learn every vital detail regarding the Teej, Hindu and Indian festivals, tithi, and other significant feasts. The Hindu calendar is where the considerable tithi, Teej, and celebrations are mainly highlighted. In contrast, the Indian Calendar also records holidays and festivities from other religions in addition to Hindu festivals in 2022. Learn all the dates for the celebrations and events that will take place this year.

Astrologers and panchang

On a moral level, astrologers fix the wedding date and offer an auspicious muhurat when horoscope matching is completed using Panchang or Panchangam (a Hindu calendar based on the Lunar Calendar).

The Indian Calendar's Structure

The Shaka Calendar has 12 months and 365 days and is based on the lunisolar system of the time. In the Indian Calendar, Chaitra is the first month, and Phalguna is the last.

Every year, InstaAstro offers a Festival list for 2022. So let us learn about all the major holidays, Indian festivals 2022 and upcoming festivals in India.

Calendar 2022 India with holidays and festivals

January

Festival Date Festival Name
1st January -Saturday New Year
13th January -Thursday Lohri
13th January-Thursday Pausha Putrada Ekadashi
14th January - Friday Pongal, Uttarayan, Makar Sankranti
17th January- Monday Pausha Purnima
21st January- Friday Sakat Chauth
23rd January -Sunday Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti
26th January - Wednesday Republic Day
28th January- Friday Shattila Ekadashi

February

Festival Date Festival Name
1st February-Tuesday Mauni Amavas
5th February-Saturday Vasant Panchami
7th February-Monday- Ratha Saptami
8th February-Tuesday Bhishma Ashtami
12th February-Saturday Jaya Ekadashi
13th February-Sunday Kumbha Sankranti
16th February-Wednesday Magha Purnima, Shukla Purnima
26th February-Saturday Vijaya Ekadashi Phalguna, Krishna Ekadashi
27th February-Sunday Gauna Vijaya Ekadashi

March

Festival Date Festival Name
1st March -Tuesday Mahashivratri
14th March-Monday Amalaki Ekadashi
15th March-Tuesday Meena Sankranti
17th March - Thursday Holika Dahan
18th March -Friday Holi, Lakshmi Jayanti
25th March-Friday Sheetala Ashtami, Basoda
28th March-Monday Papmochani Ekadashi

April

Festival Date Festival Name
2nd April -Saturday Chaitra Navratri, Ugadi, Gudi Padwa
3rd April -Sunday Cheti Chand
4th April-Monday Gauri Puja, Gangaur
7th April-Thursday Yamuna Chhath
10th April -Sunday Ram Navami
11th April -Monday Chaitra Navratri Parana
12th April-Tuesday Kamada Ekadashi
14th April -Thursday Baisakhi, Ambedkar Jayanti, Mesha Sakranti
16th April -Saturday Hanuman Jayanti, Chaitra Purnima
26th April -Tuesday Varuthini Ekadashi

May

Festival Date Festival Name
3rd May -Tuesday Akshaya Tritiya, Parashurama Jayanti
8th May-Sunday Ganga Saptami
10th May-Tuesday Sita Navami
12th May-Thursday Mohini Ekadashi
14th May-Saturday Narasimha Jayanti
15th May-Sunday Vrishabha Sankranti
16th May-Monday Buddha Purnima,Vaishakha Purnima
17th May-Tuesday Narada Jayanti
26th May-Thursday Apara Ekadashi
30th May- Monday Vat Savitri Vrat, Shani Jayanti

June

Festival Date Festival Name
9th June-Thursday Ganga Dussehra
10th June-Friday Nirjala Ekadashi
11th June-Saturday Gauna Nirjala Ekadashi
14th June-Tuesday Vat Purnima Vrat, Jyeshtha Purnima
15th June-Wednesday Mithuna Sankranti
24th June-Friday Yogini Ekadashi

July

Festival Date Festival Name
1st July -Friday Jagannath Rath Yatra
10th July -Sunday Ashadhi Ekadashi, Devshayani Ekadashi
13th July -Wednesday Guru Purnima, Ashadha Purnima
16th July-Saturday Karka Sankranti
24th July-Sunday Kamika Ekadashi
31st July -Sunday Hariyali Teej

August

Festival Date Festival Name
2nd August -Tuesday Nag Panchami
8th August-Monday Shravana Putrada Ekadashi
11th August - Thursday Raksha Bandhan
12th August-Friday Varalakshmi Vrat, Gayatri Jayanti, Shravana Purnima
14th August- Sunday Kajari Teej
15th August -Monday Independence Day
17th August-Wednesday Simha Sankranti
19th August -Friday Janmashtami,Bhadrapada, Krishna Ashtami
23rd August-Tuesday Aja Ekadashi
30th August - Tuesday Hartalika Teej
31st August -Wednesday Ganesh Chaturthi

September

Festival Date Festival Name
1st September-Thursday Rishi Panchami
4th September-Sunday Radha Ashtami
6th September-Tuesday Parsva Ekadashi
8th September -Thursday Onam/Thiruvonam
9th September -Friday Anant Chaturdashi, Ganesh Visarjan
10th September-Saturday Pitrupaksha Begins, Bhadrapada Purnima
17th September-Saturday Vishwakarma Puja, Kanya Sankranti
21st September-Wednesday Indira Ekadashi
25th September-Sunday Sarva Pitru Amavasya
26th September -Monday Sharad Navratri/Mahalaya, Navratri Begins

October

Festival Date Festival Name
2nd October -Sunday Gandhi Jayanti, Sarswati Awahan
3rd October - Monday Durga Puja Ashtami, Sarswati Puja
4th October - Tuesday Durga Maha Navami Puja, Sharad Navratri end
5th October - Wednesday Dussehra, Vijayadashmi
6th October-Thursday Papankusha Ekadashi
9th October-Sunday Kojagara Puja, Sharad Purnima, Ashwina Purnima
13th October - Thursday Karva Chauth
17th October-Monday Ahoi Ashtami, Tula Sankranti
21st October-Friday Govatsa Dwadashi, Rama Ekadashi
22nd October-Saturday Dhanteras
23rd October - Sunday Dhanteras, Kali Chaudas
24th October - Monday Diwali, Narak Chaturdashi, Laxmi Puja
26th October - Wednesday Bhai Dooj, Govardhan Puja
30th October - Sunday Chhath Puja

November

Festival Date Festival Name
3rd November-Thursday Kansa Vadh
4th November-Friday Devutthana Ekadashi
5th November-Saturday Tulasi Vivah
8th November-Tuesday Kartika Purnima
14th November -Monday Children's Day
16th November-Wednesday Kalabhairav Jayanti, Vrishchika Sankranti
20th November-Sunday Utpanna Ekadashi
28th November-Monday Vivah Panchami

December

Festival Date Festival Name
3rd December-Saturday Gita Jayanti, Mokshada Ekadashi
7th December-Wednesday Dattatreya Jayanti
8th December-Thursday Margashirsha Purnima, Annapurna Jayanti
16th December-Friday Dhanu Sankranti
19th December-Monday Saphala Ekadashi
25th December -Sunday Christmas

Frequently Asked Questions

Lohri is an essential holiday since it celebrates the harvest. Farmers and rural communities pray to the Lord for a successful harvest season the day before Makar Sankranti. If a household has experienced a joyous event recently, such as a child's birth or a wedding that symbolises fertility and prosperity, the festival is much more significant.
The Holi Festival of Colours in India commemorates the defeat of the demoniac Holika and the triumph of good over evil. Every year, it is observed on the day following the full moon in the early-March Hindu month of Phalguna.
In the southern regions of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Telangana, the new year is heralded by a nine-day carnival. According to Hindu mythology, the beginning of each year commemorates Lord Brahma's creation of the cosmos.Traditional ceremonies, decorations, and cuisine mark the day as the conclusion of the previous year's approach; Ugadi signals fresh starts and a sense of fulfilment.
The Chariot Celebration of Lord Jagannath, Devi Subhadra, and Lord Balabhadra or Rath yatra, is a top festival of Puri, Odisha. Each year, this celebration is held in June or July on the second day of the Shukla Paksha.
Mahalaya, which is celebrated seven days even before Durga Puja and announces the arrival of Durga, the goddess of boundless power, is a fortunate occasion. Jago Tumi Jago is a form of invocation or call for the maternal goddess to come to earth. Vedic chanting and the singing of devotional melodies are used to accomplish this.
The Hindu Vedic festival of Chhath Puja is observed throughout the Indian Subcontinent, particularly in the Indian states of Bihar, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, and some sections of Madhya Pradesh, as well as in some parts of Nepal.It is celebrated twice a year, during the Indian months of Chaitra (March–April) and Kartika. It is devoted to the Sun God (Surya Dev) and Chhathi (Shashti) Devi or Maiya (Mother) (October-November).

Choose your Zodiac Sign