Festivals of 2023

Without festivals, the world would turn into a swamp where we would all lead the same boring lives. In India, holidays are substantially greater than practically any other event. They are the highlight of the year, and we eagerly anticipate them. People of various ages and socio-economic backgrounds find enjoyable family activities and methods to honor the divinities. In actuality, Indian festivals serve just as symbols of happiness and harmony. Every religious celebration in India has a history. The majority of festivals promote harmony and the triumph of virtue over evil. Reunited families enjoy a few fun days before returning to their routine life. They anxiously await the arrival of the Holy Festivals each year with the hope of seeing their loved ones again. InstaAstro presents you with a list of all the major holidays in the coming year. To know more, read about Kundli here.

Tithis

Tithi, Nakshatra, Yoga, Vara, and Karana are the five components of the Hindu calendar. They have a special meaning in astrology. The Moon moves farther away from the Sun by 12 degrees during one Tithi. Simply put, a Tithi is a lunar day, and the Hindu lunar calendar is related to the Tithi calendar. Although the duration of each lunar day varies, 30 tithis spanning Krishna Paksha (waning phase) Pratipada and Shukla Paksha (waxing phase) Purnima. The length of a Tithi may range from 21.5 to 26 hours.

In Hindu tradition, mahurat, or auspicious hours, are determined using tithis. There are fortunate and unlucky tithis, and each is considered more advantageous for particular goals than others. Knowing the difference between Nakshatra and Tithi is crucial when selecting a Muhurta since both impact our mental state. Venus represents one's mental condition, whether they are excited, tired, terrified, apprehensive, annoyed, or tranquil. Saturn and the air element Vayu Tattvaor rule the nakshatra. It foretells whether the experience the mind will have will be joyful or painful.

January

Festival Date Festival Name
01 January 2023 -Sunday NewYear
06 January 2023 -Friday Pausha Purnima
10 January 2023 -Tuesday Sakat Chauth
13 January 2023 -Friday Lohri
14th January 2023-Saturday Pausha Putrada Ekadashi, Uttarayan, Makar Sankranti
15 January 2023 -Sunday Pongal
23 January 2023 - Monday Netaji Subash Chandra Bose Jayanti
26th January 2023 - Thursday Republic Day
26th January 2023 - Thursday Basant Panchmi

February

Festival Date Festival Name
04 February 2023 -Saturday Hazrat Ali's Birthday, World Cancer Day
5th February 2023-Sunday Guru Ravidas Jayanti
14th February 2023-Tuesday Valentine's Day
15th February 2023-Wednesday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti
18th February- Saturday Maha Shivrarti
21st February 2023- Tuesday Ramkrishna Jayanti

March

Festival Date Festival Name
07 March 2023 -Tuesday Chhoti Holi, Holi Dahan, Chaitanya Mahaprabhu Jayanti
08 March 2023 -Wednesday Holi, International Women's Day
10th March- Friday Shivaji Jayanti
21 March 2023 -Tuesday Vernal Equinox, Parsi New Year
22nd March -Wednesday Ugaadi, Gudi Padwa, Jhulelaal Jayanti
23 March 2023 -Thursday Shaheed Diwas
30th March- Thursday Ram Navami

April

Festival Date Festival Name
01 April 2023 -Saturday Bank Holiday
4th April 2023- Tuesday Swami Mahavir Jayanti
7th April 2023- Friday Good Friday
9th April 2023- Sunday Easter
14 April 2023 -Friday Solar New Year, Ambedkar Jayanti, Baisakhi
16th April 2023- Sunday Vallabhacharya Jayanti
21st April 2023- Friday Jamat Ul-Vida
22 April 2023 -Saturday Eid-al-Fitr
25th April 2023- Tuesday Shankaracharya Jayanti, Surdas Jayanti

May

Festival Date Festival Name
01 May 2023 -Monday International Worker's Day
05 May 2023 -Friday Buddha Purnima
7th May 2023- Sunday Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti, World Laughter Day
14th May 2023- Sunday Mothers' Day
22 May 2023-Monday Maharana Pratap Jayanti

June

Festival Date Festival Name
4th June 2023- Sunday Kabirdas Jayanti
5th June 2023- Sunday World Environment Day
18 June 2023- Sunday Fathers' Day
20th June 2023- Tuesday Jagannath Rathyatra
21 June 2023- Wednesday International Yoga Day
29th June 2023- Thursday Eid-al-Adha, Bakrid

July

Festival Date Festival Name
3rd July 2023- Monday Guru Purnima
19th July 2023- Wednesday Islamic New Year
28th July 2023- Friday Muharram

August

Festival Date Festival Name
15 August 2023- Tuesday Independence Day
23th August 2023- Wednesday Tulsidas Jayanti
29th August 2023- Tuesday Onam
30 August 2023- Wednesday Rakshabandhan

September

Festival Date Festival Name
05 September 2023 -Tuesday Teacher's Day
6th September 2023- Wednesday Janmashtami - Smarta
7th September 2023- Thursday Janmashtami - ISKCON
14th September 2023- Thursday Hindi Diwas
15th September 2023- Friday Visvesvaraya Jayanti
19th September 2023- Tuesday Ganesh Chaturthi
27th September 2023- Wednesday Milad un-Nabi
27th September 2023- Wednesday Eid-e-Milad

October

Festival Date Festival Name
02 October 2023- Monday Gandhi Jayanti
15th October 2023- Sunday Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti
22nd October 2023- Sunday Durga Ashtami
23rd October 2023- Monday Maha Navami
24 October 2023 -Tuesday Dussehra
24 October 2023 -Tuesday Madhavacharya Jayanti
28th October 2023- Saturday Valmiki Jayanti
28th October 2023- Saturday Meerabai Jayanti

November

Festival Date Festival Name
01 November 2023- Wednesday Karwa Chauth
12th November 2023- Sunday Lakshmi Puja
12th November 2023- Sunday Narak Chaturdashi
12th November 2023- Sunday Diwali
14 November 2023- Tuesday Govardhan Puja
14 November 2023- Tuesday Bhaiya Dooj
14 November 2023- Tuesday Nehru Jayanti
14 November 2023- Tuesday Children's Day
19th November 2023- Sunday Chhath Puja
27th November 2023- Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti

December

Festival Date Festival Name
22nd December 2023- Friday Shortest Day of the Year
25 December 2023- Monday Merry Christmas

To know more about yourself, read up on your Kundli at InstaAstro.

Frequently Asked Questions

Lord Krishna was born at midnight on Ashtami tithi under the Rohini Nakshatra.
Diwali in 2023 is on 12th November 2023.
Durga Puja in 2023 is on 22nd October 2023.
Chhath Puja is an ancient festival in the Hindu religion honoring the Sun.
Guru Purnima falls on the full moon day of the Hindu month Ashadha. This year it falls on 3rd July 2023.
In Hindu tradition, tithis determines the mahurat, or auspicious hours.

Choose your Zodiac Sign