Namkaran Muhurat 2023

The arrival of a newborn in a family is a joyous moment for every household member. After a baby is born, selecting baby namkaran is the first thought. But, unfortunately, one remains with this name for the rest of his life. Thus significant effort must be made by parents.

What is Namkaran Sanskar?

Precisely "Nama" signifies a name, and "Karana" is "to make, to result." The Namakaran Sanskar is often held ten days after the baby's birth. However, the mother and infant are considered unclean during these ten postnatal days, unlucky. The home is cleaned and sanctified after those ten days.

The fifth Sanskar among Hinduism's 16 rituals is Namkaran. As its name implies, this ceremony preserves the newborn baby's name. It is stated that names are connected to actions. Therefore, it is crucial in this circumstance to safeguard the name under careful consideration. The naming of every infant is done according to strict Hindu tradition.

How is the perfect name decided for the baby?

According to Vedic literature, a person's age and brilliance rise through the naming ritual. The individual establishes his personality and gains notoriety for his name, behaviour, and acts.

It is decided which letter of the Sanskrit alphabet would be auspicious for the infant based on the Nakshatra at the moment of birth. Then a name that begins with that alphabet is given to the infant.

When is Namkaran Sanskar done?

Things to keep in mind while selecting a baby name.

Hindu households use Vedic astrology to determine a baby's name. The first letter of a child's name is seen to be exceptionally fortunate, and there are 5 broad rules for choosing what it ought to be:

  • Janam Nakshatranam
  • Devatanama (named for the household god);
  • Masanam (following the month of the child's birth);
  • Samsarikanama (the worldly name).
  • Rashinama (following the kid's horoscope);

The classical religious faith is that a girl's name should have odd-numbered characters (3, 5, 7, 9), and a lad's name must have even-numbered letters (2, 4, 6, 8).

When is the Namkaran Ceremony done?

The Namakarana pooja is often held ten days following the baby's birth. The Sutak is thought to start the following labour. Its length varies. Sutak is seen as being ten days in the Brahmin Varna, 12 days for Kshatriyas, 15 days for Vaishyas, and one month for Shudras, according to Parashara Samhita. The varna method, however, is no longer applicable in modern society. Thus chatti pooja for new born babies is done on the eleventh day. On the tenth day, the baby naming ceremony is also held. The father does the action.

The full process of Namkaran Vidhi

  • The infant and the parents are also washed and dressed in new clothing on this day.
  • The parents then sit at the havan with the child on their lap.
  • The pandit then creates the child's astrological chart after finishing the havan.
  • Based on the horoscope, a character is chosen following the child's star sign. Parents give their children a name that begins with this alphabet.
  • Nowadays, individuals learn the alphabet by creating a horoscope beforehand, and in accordance, they plan out a nice name.
  • Following worship, for example, the parents whisper the kid's name in his ear before family members pick up the child on their lap and address him by name.
  • In specific communities, the baby name function is reserved for worship, which is required by rule to be performed in the attendance of 5 married women.

Note: Expert Astrologers at InstaAstro have analysed and compiled various days and Dates for Baby Namkaran 2023 for you to choose from. One need not go anywhere else for details. Our Astrologers are just a click away from providing you with the best alternatives.

Dates for Baby Namkaran 2023

Namkaran Muhurats In January 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Sun, Jan 1, 06:20 AM Sun, Jan 1, 12:48 PM Ashwini
Wed, Jan 4, 06:21 AM Thu, Jan 5, 09:26 PM Rohini
Sun, Jan 8, 06:22 AM Mon, Jan 9, 06:05 AM Pushya
Fri, Jan 13, 04:35 PM Sat, Jan 14, 06:22 AM Hasta
Wed, Jan 18, 06:22 AM Wed, Jan 18, 05:22 PM Anuradha
Sun, Jan 22, 06:22 AM Tue, Jan 24, 12:26 AM Uttara Ashadha
Wed, Jan 25, 08:05 PM Sat, Jan 28, 06:20 AM Uttara Bhadrapada
Mon, Jan 30, 10:15 PM Tue, Jan 31, 06:19 AM Rohini

Namkaran Muhurats In February 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Wed, Feb 1, 06:19 AMThu, Feb 2, 03:23 AMMrigashirsha
Sun, Feb 5, 06:17 AMSun, Feb 5, 12:13 PMPushya
Thu, Feb 9, 10:27 PMSat, Feb 11, 12:18 AMHasta
Tue, Feb 14, 02:35 AMTue, Feb 14, 06:13 AMAnuradha
Fri, Feb 17, 08:28 PMSat, Feb 18, 06:10 AMUttara Ashadha
Sun, Feb 19, 06:09 AMMon, Feb 20, 11:46 AMShravana
Wed, Feb 22, 06:38 AMSat, Feb 25, 03:26 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Mon, Feb 27, 05:18 AMTue, Feb 28, 06:02 AMRohini

Namkaran Muhurats In March 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Wed, Mar 1, 06:02 AMWed, Mar 1, 09:52 AMMrigashirsha
Fri, Mar 3, 03:43 PMSat, Mar 4, 05:59 AMPushya
Thu, Mar 9, 04:20 AMFri, Mar 10, 05:57 AMHasta
Mon, Mar 13, 08:21 AMTue, Mar 14, 05:50 AMAnuradha
Fri, Mar 17, 04:47 AMSat, Mar 18, 05:46 AMUttara Ashadha
Sun, Mar 19, 05:45 AMSun, Mar 19, 10:04 PMDhanishta
Wed, Mar 22, 05:42 AMFri, Mar 24, 01:22 PMUttara Bhadrapada
Sun, Mar 26, 02:01 PMTue, Mar 28, 05:37 AMRohini

Namkaran Muhurats In April 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Sat, Apr 1, 12:00 AMSat, Apr 1, 01:57 AMPushya
Wed, Apr 5, 11:23 AMThu, Apr 6, 12:41 PMHasta
Sun, Apr 9, 02:00 PMMon, Apr 10, 01:39 PMAnuradha
Thu, Apr 13, 10:43 AMSat, Apr 15, 05:20 AMUttara Ashadha
Sun, Apr 16, 05:19 AMSun, Apr 16, 05:51 AMDhanishta
Tue, Apr 18, 02:28 AMTue, Apr 18, 05:18 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Wed, Apr 19, 05:17 AMMThu, Apr 20, 11:10 PRevati
Sun, Apr 23, 05:14 AMTue, Apr 25, 02:07 AMRohini
Fri, Apr 28, 12:00 AMFri, Apr 28, 09:53 AMPushya

Namkaran Muhurats In May 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Wed, May 3, 05:07 AMWed, May 3, 08:56 PMHasta
Sun, May 7, 05:04 AMSun, May 7, 08:21 PMAnuradha
Wed, May 10, 04:12 PMSat, May 13, 05:01 AMUttara Ashadha
Mon, May 15, 09:08 AMTue, May 16, 05:00 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Wed, May 17, 04:59 AMThu, May 18, 07:22 AMRevati
Sun, May 21, 04:58 AMMon, May 22, 10:37 AMRohini
Wed, May 24, 03:06 PMThu, May 25, 03:06 PMPushya
Tue, May 30, 04:29 AMTue, May 30, 04:55 AMHasta
Wed, May 31, 04:55 AMWed, May 31, 06:00 AMHasta

Namkaran Muhurats In June 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Sun, Jun 4, 04:55 AMSun, Jun 4, 05:03 AMAnuradha
Wed, Jun 7, 04:55 AMFri, Jun 9, 05:09 PMUttara Ashadha
Sun, Jun 11, 02:32 PMTue, Jun 13, 04:55 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Wed, Jun 14, 04:55 AMWed, Jun 14, 01:40 PMAshwini
Fri, Jun 16, 03:07 PMSat, Jun 17, 04:55 AMRohini
Sun, Jun 18, 04:56 AMSun, Jun 18, 06:06 PMMrigashirsha
Wed, Jun 21, 04:56 AMWed, Jun 21, 10:36 PMPushya
Mon, Jun 26, 12:44 PMTue, Jun 27, 04:58 AMHasta
Fri, Jun 30, 04:10 PMSat, Jul 1, 04:59 AMAnuradha

Namkaran Muhurats In July 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Wed, Jul 5, 05:00 AMFri, Jul 7, 12:25 AMUttara Ashadha
Sun, Jul 9, 05:02 AMTue, Jul 11, 05:03 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Thu, Jul 13, 08:52 PMSat, Jul 15, 05:04 AMRohini
Wed, Jul 19, 05:06 AMWed, Jul 19, 07:58 AMPushya
Sun, Jul 23, 07:47 PMMon, Jul 24, 10:12 PMHasta
Fri, Jul 28, 01:28 AMSat, Jul 29, 12:55 AMAnuradha
Mon, Jul 31, 06:58 PMTue, Aug 1, 05:11 AMUttara Ashadha

Namkaran Muhurats In August 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Wed, Aug 2, 05:12 AMThu, Aug 3, 09:56 AMShravana
Sat, Aug 5, 04:44 AMSat, Aug 5, 05:13 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Sun, Aug 6, 05:13 AMTue, Aug 8, 01:16 AMRevati
Thu, Aug 10, 02:29 AMSat, Aug 12, 05:15 AMRohini
Mon, Aug 14, 11:07 AMTue, Aug 15, 05:17 AMPushya
Sun, Aug 20, 05:18 AMMon, Aug 21, 04:22 AMHasta
Thu, Aug 24, 09:04 AMFri, Aug 25, 09:14 AMAnuradha
Mon, Aug 28, 05:15 AMTue, Aug 29, 05:21 AMUttara Ashadha
Wed, Aug 30, 05:22 AMWed, Aug 30, 08:46 PMDhanishta

Namkaran Muhurats In September 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Fri, Sep 1, 02:56 PMSat, Sep 2, 05:22 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Sun, Sep 3, 05:23 AMMon, Sep 4, 09:26 ARevati
Wed, Sep 6, 09:20 AMFri, Sep 8, 12:09 PMRohini
Sun, Sep 10, 05:06 PMMon, Sep 11, 08:01 PMPushya
Sun, Sep 17, 05:27 AMSun, Sep 17, 10:02 AMHasta
Wed, Sep 20, 02:58 PMThu, Sep 21, 03:35 PMAnuradha
Sun, Sep 24, 01:41 PMTue, Sep 26, 05:29 AMUttara Ashadha
Wed, Sep 27, 05:30 AMWed, Sep 27, 07:10 AMDhanishta
Fri, Sep 29, 01:48 AMSat, Sep 30, 05:31 AMUttara Bhadrapada

Namkaran Muhurats In October 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Sun, Oct 1, 05:31 AMSun, Oct 1, 07:27 PMAshwini
Wed, Oct 4, 05:32 AMThu, Oct 5, 07:40 PMRohini
Sun, Oct 8, 05:33 AMMon, Oct 9, 02:45 AMPushya
Fri, Oct 13, 02:11 PMSat, Oct 14, 05:36 AMHasta
Wed, Oct 18, 05:37 AMWed, Oct 18, 09:00 PMAnuradha
Sun, Oct 22, 05:39 AMTue, Oct 24, 05:40 AMUttara Ashadha
Thu, Oct 26, 11:27 AMSat, Oct 28, 05:42 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Sun, Oct 29, 05:42 AMSun, Oct 29, 05:54 AMAshwini
Tue, Oct 31, 04:01 AMTue, Oct 31, 05:43 AMRohini

Namkaran Muhurats In November 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Wed, Nov 1, 05:44 AMThu, Nov 2, 04:36 AMMrigashirsha
Sun, Nov 5, 05:46 AMSun, Nov 5, 10:29 AMPushya
Thu, Nov 9, 09:57 PMSat, Nov 11, 12:08 AMHasta
Tue, Nov 14, 03:23 AMTue, Nov 14, 05:52 AMAnuradha
Sat, Nov 18, 01:17 AMSat, Nov 18, 05:54 AMUttara Ashadha
Sun, Nov 19, 05:55 AMMon, Nov 20, 09:26 PMShravana
Wed, Nov 22, 06:37 PMSat, Nov 25, 05:59 AMUttara Bhadrapada
Mon, Nov 27, 01:35 PMTue, Nov 28, 06:01 AMRohini
Wed, Nov 29, 06:02 AMWed, Nov 29, 01:59 PMMrigashirsha

Namkaran Muhurats In December 2023

Start time End time Nakshatra
Fri, Dec 1, 04:40 PMSat, Dec 2, 06:04 AMPushya
Thu, Dec 7, 06:28 AMFri, Dec 8, 08:54 AMHasta
Mon, Dec 11, 12:13 PMTue, Dec 12, 06:10 AMAnuradha
Fri, Dec 15, 08:10 AMSat, Dec 16, 06:13 AMUttara Ashadha
Sun, Dec 17, 06:13 AMMon, Dec 18, 02:54 AMDhanishta
Wed, Dec 20, 06:15 AMFri, Dec 22, 09:36 PMUttara Bhadrapada
Sun, Dec 24, 09:19 PMTue, Dec 26, 06:18 AMRohini
Fri, Dec 29, 01:04 AMSat, Dec 30, 03:09 AMPushya

Frequently Asked Questions

'Nama' signifies a name, and 'Karana' is 'to make, to result.' It is the 5th Sanskar among Hinduism's 16 rituals. As its name implies, this ceremony preserves the newborn baby's name.
As written in Vedic literature, a person's age and brilliance rise through the naming ritual. The individual establishes his personality and gains notoriety from his name, behaviour, and acts.
The Vedic religious faith says that a girl's name should have odd-numbered characters (3, 5, 7, 9), and a lad's name must have even-numbered letters (2, 4, 6, 8).
The Namakarana pooja is often held ten days-12 days following the baby's birth. On the tenth day, the baby naming ceremony is also held. The father does the action.
The Sutak is a time period thought to start the following labour. Its length varies. the mother and infant are considered unclean during these ten Sutak days. The home is cleaned and sanctified after those ten days.
It is decided that the letter of the Sanskrit alphabet would be auspicious for the infant based on the Nakshatra at the moment of birth. Then a name that begins with that alphabet is given to the infant.